NEW DMV LAWS 2018 – CALIFORNIA
State officials have been notifying the general public of upcoming 2018 law changes as early as 2016. We might have all got a heads-up but not all of the new 2018 laws have taken affect yet and some have gone under the radar. We decided to create an easy-to-read article about 6 new California DMV laws that we think every motorist should know.
- Cannabis Use in Vehicles (SB 65) – This law prohibits smoking or ingesting marijuana or marijuana products while driving or riding as a passenger in any automotive vehicle.
- Buses and Seatbelts (SB 20) – Beginning July 1, 2018, this law requires a passenger on a bus equipped with seat belts to be properly restrained by a safety belt. A violation of these provisions is an infraction punishable by a fine.
- DUI – Passenger for Hire (AB 2687): Beginning July 1, 2018, this law makes it unlawful for a person to operate a motor vehicle with a blood alcohol concentration of 04 percent or more when a passenger is in the vehicle at the time of the offense. This will mean that drivers of passengers, in their personal vehicles, will be held to a higher standard of safety while transporting people. The DMV will suspend a person’s driver license if a conviction is added to their record. A commercial driver’s license will receive a disqualification.
- Parking Violations for Registration or Driver License Renewal (AB 503) – A payment plan is now possible if you owe parking citations. This bill would add an exception to the requirement to refuse to renew the registration. The bill would also require the department to allow a registered owner or lessee to file a certification that the vehicle will not be operated or moved, if the registered owner or lessee currently owes parking penalties and administrative fees for that vehicle, regardless if that registered owner is currently on an active payment plan, as specified. Read more about what the legislature finds and declares about AB503 here.
- Disabled Person Parking Placards and Plates (SB 611) – You will now be required to provide proof of true full name and birth date. The law will limit the number of replacement disabled person parking placards an applicant can request without obtaining a medical certification to four. It also requires the DMV to establish a renewal process that requires applicants to return a renewal notice by mail every six years.
- Road Maintenance and Rehabilitation Program (SB 1) – This new law that took affect earlier this year, is one that will surely upset you as a consumer. The reason for sticking the people of California with the bill is because legislators report the state is facing a $59 Billion dollar deficit and are unable to adequately maintain existing streets and roads. In 2018, DMV is required to begin collecting at the time of registration or renewal the Transportation Improvement Fee (TIF) ranging from $25 – $175, based on the vehicle’s current value.
This information was researched by The McElfish Law Firm in 2018.